August Benefit Payments: TRSL's payment of August 1st regular retirement benefits falls on a weekend, so your bank may post this payment

to your account on the next business day. Please contact your bank if you need information about the posting of this payment.

TRSL Board receives results of retiree election; run-off forthcoming

July 9, 2021

Baton Rouge — At its July meeting, the TRSL Board of Trustees received voting results for the retiree election.
As no candidate received more than 50% of the vote, a run-off election will be held with the top two candidates who received the most votes in the primary.
Moving forward in the run-off will be Clyde F. Hamner (Houma) with 22.57% of the vote and Debbie Meaux (Lafayette) with 11.29% of the vote. Additional voting results are as follows: 
  • Donald Songy of Prairieville received 10.92% of the vote.
  • Terry Young of Metairie received 9.55% of the vote.
  • Nita Chambers of Alexandria received 5.30% of the vote.
  • Vickey Range, Ed.S. of Bossier City received 4.89% of the vote.
  • Jaqualine Re’Nee McGee of Bossier City received 4.31% of the vote.
  • Irvin R. West, Ed.S. of Hammond received 4.28% of the vote.
  • Gloria Williams Hearn of Pineville received 4.23% of the vote.
  • Linda F. Clarke, Ph.D. of Austin, TX received 3.81% of the vote.
  • Robert Lawyer of New Orleans received 3.18% of the vote.
  • Scott Herrington of Heflin received 2.82% of the vote.
  • Sharon Parsons, Ph.D. of W. Palm Beach, FL received 2.57% of the vote.
  • John Angelos of Baton Rouge received 2.15% of the vote.
  • John H. Ristroph of Lafayette received 2.00% of the vote.
  • Darlene Maumus Cockfield of Paoli, PA received 1.95% of the vote.
  • Kevin J. Guitterrez of Kenner received 1.93% of the vote.
  • Jennifer L. Gary of Lafayette received 1.91% of the vote.
 Voting information for the run-off election will be mailed to eligible voters on July 26, and the deadline to vote is 4:30 p.m., Thurs., Aug. 26.
Run-off results will be announced at the TRSL board meeting in September. The candidate receiving the most votes will represent retired TRSL members for a four-year term beginning January 2022.
Back to Top of Page