CORONAVIRUS UPDATE: TRSL building closed to the public. This will not impact the payment of monthly TRSL benefits or DROP withdrawals. Click here to learn more. 

TRSL Board receives election results for Districts 2 & 4

October 4, 2019

At its October meeting, the TRSL Board of Trustees received voting results for the District 2 and District 4 elections.
Lotte T. Delaney, of Slidell received 55.1% of the vote in the District 2 election, ahead of John George Parauka of Mandeville, who received 44.9% of the vote.
In January, she will take the oath of office for her new four-year term as District 2 representative. Delaney is the Chief Financial Officer at New Orleans Center for Creative Arts (NOCCA). District 2 includes actively working TRSL members in the parishes of Orleans, St. Tammany, and Washington.
In the District 4 election, no candidate received more than 50% of the vote. A run-off election will be held with the top two candidates who received the most votes in the primary.
Moving forward in the run-off election will be David Hennigan (Shreveport) with 39.58% of the vote and Cynthia Y. Henderson (Shreveport) with 37.08% of the vote. John A. Allen of Natchitoches received 16.66% of the vote, and Glenn Sullivan of Benton received 6.66% of the vote.
Voting information for the run-off election will be mailed to eligible voters on October 18, and the deadline to vote is 4:30 p.m., Monday, November 18. Run-off results will be announced at the TRSL board meeting in December. The candidate receiving the most votes will represent TRSL members in District 4 for a four-year term beginning January 2020.
District 4 includes actively working TRSL members in the parishes of Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, DeSoto, Lincoln, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, and Webster.
In other election news, Tia T. Mills, Ed.D., of Baton Rouge, was elected to the District 3 seat without opposition earlier this year. Mills will take the oath of office in January and begin serving her four-year term. District 3 includes actively working TRSL members in Assumption, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Lafourche, and Terrebonne parishes.
Back to Top of Page